VHTRC 2002

Four members of the VHTRC successfully conquered the seventh running of the Kettle Moraine 100 Miler, overcoming a 93-degree, cloud-free day to pick up our commemorative copper kettle finisher awards.

Ed Schultze, John Dodds, Kerry Owens and I (Jaret Seiberg) traveled out to Wisconsin for this 100 Miler, which also has a 100 K option. John and Ed had both done MMT three weeks earlier so I thought they were nuts. Then Ed does a 50 mile training run the week before just because some friends wanted to run the entire Greenway trail out-and-back. That just reinforced my notion that he was crazy. Yet Ed appeared sane compared to Dodds, who still had a massive blister on his foot from MMT and who is signed up to do Laurel Highlands this weekend.

That meant Kerry and I were the only sane ones. This probably should be the time to mention that the prior weekend while cutting through a series of fields to cheer my wife on during her first 5K run that I got poison ivy all over both legs, both feet, both arms, both hands, my hips, and lower back. It was severe enough that the doctor put me on steroids. (No, not the kind that bulk up muscles.) Also, Kerry re-injured her ankle just a few days before the race, which resulted in much swelling and made it painful to walk

So as I was saying, Kerry and I were the only sane ones.

Ed and I meet up with John at noon Friday at the Milwaukee airport. Ed had a big duffel bag, I have medium duffel and a small backpack. John had three suitcases. Ed and I were quietly applauding ourselves for agreeing to the car upgrade when we saw all the luggage. Unfortunately we only had upgraded to a Dodge Neon, which has a trunk that barely fits one suit case let alone all the crap we brought with us. I can’t fathom what the other car would have been.

2002- New Race Directors

2002 – New race directors bring a hot year to the Kettles

Whew, it was hot for the Kettle Moraine 100 Endurance Runs this year!  The heat and humidity were too much for some runners.  An additional 27 100 mile runners opted to call it a day at the 100 km point.  The results reflect the fact that we gave our 100 mile runners credit for their 100 km time if they dropped out at or beyond that distance.  However, medals for place awards were given only for the distance the runners signed up for.  We crowned four new solo champions in addition to our two 100 mile relay champions.

We anticipate these 4-person relay events will gain in popularity in the years ahead, giving more trail-runners a chance to compete at a less daunting distance while enjoying the special camaraderie of a team effort and the ultra running community.

Our selfless and enthusiastic gang of volunteers was able to keep up with the runners’ needs throughout the day and night.  At the 100 km point one runner who was continuing, but at the same time fretting over how tired his feet were.  Upon hearing this, the aid station captain, offered up her socks and made his day.  (By the way, if you happen to read this please bring the socks with you next year.)

1996-2001 The Early Years

1996 – First Year

Kevin Setnes instituted a Friday afternoon start and a 28-hour time limit for the first KM100.  Wisconsin’s Ray O’Malley became the race’s first-ever winner in 18:41:50.  Christina Ralph of Washington was the first female winner, in 21:42:45.  95 runners started the race, and 63 finished.

1997 – New Records

The second KM100 also began on Friday afternoon, a factor considered as somewhat of an equalizer because all runners would be required to all night.  The men’s and overall winner, Dana Taylor of California, set a new course record in 17:51:40.  Marge Adelman of Kansas won the women’s race and also set a course record, 21:12:25.  54 runners finished the race under the 28-hour time limit.

1998 –  An historic victory

Donna Perkins, a Wisconsin local, was the first female and the overall winner of the third KM100.  Thus, she became the first woman to ever win a 100-mile trail race outright.  Donna also broke the women’s course record of 18:12:30.  The first male and second overall was Marty Hoffman, also of Wisconsin, in 18:36:10.  Kevin continued the practice of a Friday afternoon start and a 28-hour time limit.  62 runners completed the race within the 28-hour limit.

1999 – Hot, humid weather

Wisconsin summers can be hot and humid affairs.  This fourth edition of the KM100 was the first to deal such withering weather to our runners.  The Friday afternoon start proved to be somewhat of a boon, as the sunset provided a little relief.  Eric Clifton, New Mexico, came in first, winning by over two hours and setting the current course record in 15:57:09. Holly Neault-Zinzow, then from Illinois and now from Wisconsin, was the first female finisher, in 21:38:39.  The weather contributed to a 50% DNF rate  –  114 runners started, 57 finished. Again, there was a 28-hour time limit in effect.

2000 – New winners again

Our usual pleasant Wisconsin early-summer weather conditions returned for the fifth KM100.  The start of the race was moved to Friday noon, allowing a few more hours of daylight running while the runners were still fresh.  The winner, Hal Koerner of Colorado, finished in 18:03:59, less than 10 minutes ahead of Terry Pann in the closest KM100 finish to date.  In her first attempt at a 100-mile race, Ann Heaslett, another local Wisconsin runner, was the women’s winner in 20:44:10.  53 of 88 starters finished the race.

2001 – First repeat winner

Kevin switched to the more conventional Saturday morning start for this sixth KM100, extended the time limit to 30 hours, and added a 100-kilometer event.  The weather was pretty miserable for the most part, chilly and drizzly.  Terry Pann was the men’s and overall 100-mile winner in 18:06, while Ann Heaslett became the first runner  –  male or female  – to repeat as winner of her event, in 18:45, which was good for second place overall.  This was a year for outstanding performances by women, with Janice Anderson of Georgia finishing as the second woman and fourth overall.  The winners of the inaugural 100K race were Colorado’s Brandon Sybrowsky and Wisconsin’s Holly Neault-Zinzow.